Adding relations to a rough drawing

Do you have a question you want to ask an existing QCAD user about QCAD and what you can do with it? Do you want to know if a particular feature exists? This is the place to ask.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Dimensionmetal
Registered Member

Adding relations to a rough drawing

Post by Dimensionmetal » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:25 pm

Hi guys, I'm new on here. I have very basic knowledge of Solidworks (self taught on Youtube) however their price point is so far out of my realm I don't really see a point continuing to learn that program. I am a metal fabricator and find it much easier to lay intricate gates or brackets in CAD prior to making them. Previously I've just made a line drawing and then added dimensions and relations (degree of angles, vertical, length etc) to lock the drawing and find unsolvable equations or over-defined sections. Am I able to do this in QCAD? Attached is a quick sketch of the rough shape I want to make. I want to know if I can add relations after the rough sketch is drawn or do I have to stipulate the relation as I'm making the initial shape.
Attachments
Camso Cover.png
Camso Cover.png (3.22 KiB) Viewed 8634 times

Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing

Re: Adding relations to a rough drawing

Post by Husky » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:14 am

Hello Dimensionmetal - welcome to the QCAD Forum.
Dimensionmetal wrote:... I am a metal fabricator and find it much easier to lay intricate gates or brackets in CAD prior to making them.
Agree - that is the right thing to do. :wink:
Dimensionmetal wrote:... Previously I've just made a line drawing and then added dimensions and relations (degree of angles, vertical, length etc) to lock the drawing and find unsolvable equations or over-defined sections. Am I able to do this in QCAD?
No.