G71 Gcode

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Post Reply
mthomas
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:48 am

G71 Gcode

Post by mthomas » Tue May 21, 2019 1:50 pm

Using qcad set for GRBL (mm) almost always generates a G71 G91.1 line in the exported gcode header. The G91.1 is fine but G71 just stops the controller, always need to manually edit the generated file and remove it. Any ideas as to why this is happening, G71 in the case of standard mil/drill operations doesn't make sense.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 9036
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: G71 Gcode

Post by andrew » Tue May 21, 2019 1:59 pm

G71 sets the unit of the controller to Millimeter.

You can simply create your own post processor in the "postprocessors" directory as follows:

File name: "MyGrblMM.js"
File contents:

Code: Select all

include("Grbl.js");

function MyGrblMM(documentInterface, camDocumentInterface) {
    Grbl.call(this, documentInterface, camDocumentInterface);

    this.decimals = 4;
    this.unit = RS.Millimeter;
    this.outputOffsetPath = true;

    this.header = [
        "[N] G21 G17 G90 G40 G49 G80",
        "[N] G91.1"
    ];
}

MyGrblMM.prototype = new Grbl();
MyGrblMM.displayName = "My Grbl (offset) [mm]";
The choos the post processor "My Grbl (offset) [mm]".

mthomas
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:48 am

Re: G71 Gcode

Post by mthomas » Tue May 21, 2019 2:05 pm

Thanks for the quick response. I would have thought G21 would set up metric but good to know the header can be altered.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”