Page 1 of 1

Fonts and positions different when reopening

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 9:21 pm
by makipsee
when i make a print and save it, when i go to reopen it all of the texts are different (i save them as Tahoma, when i open the print again its back to Standard). Then if i change the text height in the Dimension preferences all the fonts change back to Tahoma. also then i have a text alignment set to say middle, middle. when i reopen is to changes it to left, middle. is this a common issue or am i missing something? i am on windows 10, the newest free version. thank you

Re: Fonts and positions different when reopening

Posted: Thu May 16, 2019 10:39 pm
by Husky
Hi,
unfortunately I can't reproduce that on Win10/64bit QCAD CE 3.22.0

Could you attache the drawing? Thanks.

Re: Fonts and positions different when reopening

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 7:04 pm
by makipsee
Sorry for the late reply wasnt receiving emails.... haha yea thats usually my luck. i have attached a file see how this opens for you.

Re: Fonts and positions different when reopening

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 8:17 pm
by Husky
Thanks for the drawing.

I loaded your drawing in QCAD CE - all fonts in Standard,
I changed Standard to Tahoma - saved and closed it,
reopened again - all Fonts still in Tahoma

Good news: It behaves like expected,
Bad news: I still can't reproduce your issue with the fonts .... :(

This is the modified drawing. Please check how it behaves on your machine.

TEMPLATE_mod.dxf
(181.25 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

Re: Fonts and positions different when reopening

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 8:34 pm
by makipsee
thank for checking it out.
Well when i opened it everything was in Tahoma as you stated. at the top right of the drawing where it says "original drawing" is it off centered? i was reading in another post and someone said i might not be able to change the fonts because i was on the community version

Re: Fonts and positions different when reopening

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 9:06 pm
by Husky
makipsee wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 8:34 pm
... the top right of the drawing where it says "original drawing" is it off centered?
I haven't checked the orientation - you can blame me for that ... e_surprised
... but it works like the rest of the formatting.
makipsee wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 8:34 pm
i was reading in another post and someone said i might not be able to change the fonts because i was on the community version
That statement is incorrect.

Re: Fonts and positions different when reopening

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 9:17 pm
by makipsee
here are 2 screenshots. i added comments to each picture

Re: Fonts and positions different when reopening

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 9:22 pm
by makipsee
i have noticed that i dont have the ability to change the font of the drawing under "Edit->Drawing Preferences->Dimension Settings" i dont have a "Dimension Label Font" section

Re: Fonts and positions different when reopening

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 9:45 pm
by Husky
makipsee wrote:
Mon May 20, 2019 9:22 pm
i have noticed that i dont have the ability to change the font of the drawing under "Edit->Drawing Preferences->Dimension Settings" i dont have a "Dimension Label Font" section
That is correct for Dimension Settings.

Question: Have you tested / used the Trial on the same machine and now you are only running the CE? If yes please reset QCAD for a test.
Make sure QCAD is closed,
rename the qcad3.ini,
launch QCAD again,
test this particular drawing again and see what happens.

Here is a manual how to find the qcad3.ini

https://qcad.org/en/tutorial-resetting- ... figuration

Re: Fonts and positions different when reopening

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 1:02 pm
by makipsee
i just tried to reset QCAD but it didnt bring back the trial. after resetting and opening the same drawing it still gives the same issue.