postprocessor outputing G41 code

Discussions around the CAM Add-On of QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Indicate the post processor used.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Post Reply
jamby
Full Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:41 pm

postprocessor outputing G41 code

Post by jamby » Mon Jul 24, 2023 1:32 am

Old version of Qcadcam not sure if its still supported but here goes.

Version:
3.18.1.0 (3.18.1)
Internet:
QCAD.org
Build Date:
Oct 4 2017
Revision:
24e23aa
Qt Version:
5.8.0
Architecture:
x86_64
Compiler:
gcc 4.8.1

Running on Dell T7600 w/ Ubuntu 22.04
using the Lxcnc post.

When creating the code at setting the side (inside/outside) the selection is met with a requirement from the postprocessor "Postprocessor requires lead in / lead out for cutter radius compensation".
LxcncIn.js
(2.08 KiB) Downloaded 221 times
LxcncIn.js
(2.08 KiB) Downloaded 221 times
I know I am getting older but at the end of last year I remember this post not requiring any of this an not putting a G41 in the files.

Thanks
Jim
Attachments
AA-PPross-LxcncIn.ngc
(450 Bytes) Downloaded 237 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 9063
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: postprocessor outputing G41 code

Post by andrew » Mon Jul 24, 2023 7:00 am

I can confirm that this post processor indeed outputs G41/G42 for tool radius compensation.

Post processors that compute radius compensation (without the need for G41/G42) have "(Offset)" in their name.

Perhaps, you can open a file from last year to check what post processor you might have used then.

jamby
Full Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:41 pm

Re: postprocessor outputing G41 code

Post by jamby » Wed Jul 26, 2023 3:13 am

Andrew
Once again it looks like operator error. Too many files with the same name and something got over written..... So a deep dive into the archives might turn up the original..

Thanks
Jim

jamby
Full Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:41 pm

Re: postprocessor outputing G41 code

Post by jamby » Thu Jul 27, 2023 8:24 pm

Dell T7600
Ubuntu 22.04
Version: 3.18.1.0 (3.18.1)
Internet: QCAD.org
Build Date: Oct 4 2017
Revision: 24e23aa
Qt Version: 5.8.0
Architecture: x86_64
Compiler: gcc 4.8.1

The confusion has not be cleared but I found two files that didn't have the expected values.
GCodeBase.js
(7.63 KiB) Downloaded 218 times
JimOffsetIn.js
(2.6 KiB) Downloaded 218 times
The JimOffsetIn.js is what my old Lncncin.js had been until something shifted.
JimOffsetIn.js has this line this.outputOffsetPath = true;
GCodeBase.js has additional lines a line # 61 and 62 they define the name of the input file and path used in the header.

Thanks
Jim
Last edited by jamby on Fri Jul 28, 2023 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 3480
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: postprocessor outputing G41 code

Post by CVH » Thu Jul 27, 2023 9:14 pm

Jim,

Remark that GCodeBase.js may be overwritten by an update of QCAD/CAM.
Please read the header of this file.
You should not edit that for customizing the G-code output.

LxcncIn.js nor JimOffsetIn.js are standard postprocessors.
JimOffsetIn.js should create an offset path instead of using G41/G42.
One can include any required customization in these files.

Both are based on GCodeIN.js what itself is based on GCodeBase.js
One can overrule any of the settings in GCodeIN.js or in GCodeBase.js by overwriting them in the custom postprocessor.

Regards,
CVH

jamby
Full Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:41 pm

Re: postprocessor outputing G41 code

Post by jamby » Fri Jul 28, 2023 8:30 pm

CVH

Back in 2019 Andrew was helping me develop a set of headers for my postprocessor. He gave me a block of code that listed the name and directory of the .dxf file in the gcode file. I am not sure who edited the GCodeBase.js code but the end result means the header info would be available to any postprocessor just as the file and path for the .ngc file is defined in the GCodeBase.js file.

https://qcad.org/rsforum/viewtopic.php? ... 387#p25387

Thanks
Jim

Note: this is version 3.18.1

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 3480
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: postprocessor outputing G41 code

Post by CVH » Sat Jul 29, 2023 6:18 am

Jim,

The GCodeBase.js you posted on Thu Jul 27, 2023 9:24 pm
is not the original from QCAD/CAM

Yours start with:

Code: Select all

/**
 *      Version 1 27jul23
 * Include definition of class CamExporterV2 from QCAD/CAM plugin:
 */
include("scripts/Cam/CamExportV2/CamExporterV2.js");
That should be:

Code: Select all

/**
 * This file is part of the QCAD/CAM software.
 * Do NOT edit this file. Your changes will be lost when the software 
 * is updated or reinstalled. 
 * For details, please refer to the file README.txt in this directory.
 */
 
/**
 * Include definition of class CamExporterV2 from QCAD/CAM plugin:
 */
include("scripts/Cam/CamExportV2/CamExporterV2.js");
Yours is definitely altered and less complete if we compare it with originals.
The only way to revert back is by re-installing QCAD/CAM ...
One could temporarily install a trial version under a different name/folder and copy over the standard postprocessors. :wink:

Concerning topic 6700:
In the copies I have of GCodeBase.js the variables INFILENAME and INFILEPATH are declared but the writefile function does not include setting a value for these variables.

Concerning this topic:
What are the problems you still have?

Regards,
CVH

jamby
Full Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:41 pm

Re: postprocessor outputing G41 code

Post by jamby » Sun Jul 30, 2023 2:23 pm

CVH

No problems here. Everything is good and I am getting the output I expect.

Thanks for your concern
Jim

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD/CAM”