3.19 install fails on Windows 10

Post your question about installing or upgrading QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
lphilpot
Full Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:03 am
Location: Deep South USA

3.19 install fails on Windows 10

Post by lphilpot » Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:29 pm

Trying to install 64-bit 3.19 on my Windows 10 1703 laptop.

No matter whether I run the MSI as my account (which is an administrator) or launch a command shell as administrator and run the MSI from there, I still get an error stating: "The installer has insufficient privileges to access this directory: C:\Users\Public\Desktop. The installation cannot continue. Log on as administrator or contact your system administrator.". Retry fails and cancel rolls back the install.

If all it's trying to do is install a shortcut on the all users desktop, is there a way to bypass that? Creating a shortcut after the fact is trivial.

I will (as a test) literally log out and back in as administrator, but I've never seen that as a requirement before and running anything as admin is the same.

Any ideas? Use the zip instead?

Thanks.
Len
----------------------------------------
QCAD Pro on Xubuntu Linux (usually)

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6286
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: 3.19 install fails on Windows 10

Post by andrew » Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:45 pm

lphilpot wrote:Any ideas? Use the zip instead?
Yes. Or perhaps Google to find out how to install the MSI in your situation. I'm afraid I can't help much with this as this seems to be a Windows issue.

User avatar
lphilpot
Full Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:03 am
Location: Deep South USA

Re: 3.19 install fails on Windows 10

Post by lphilpot » Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:49 pm

OK, I had to re-enable the administrator account, login and run the installer. QCAD installed then, but why wouldn't it work before? On another Win 10 laptop (with 3.18 at least) I ran into no such issues. I'll see if it happens when I take it to 3.19. This particular laptop was built up and then attached to a domain which is no longer available (at the moment). But my account is local, not domain, and a member of Administrators. There should be no issue with cached credentials, etc.

Once again, Microsoft's idea of "you're an administrator, except not REALLY an administrator" strikes again. *Sigh* *nix is so much easier. :wink: Weird. But it's working now, so onward... :)
Len
----------------------------------------
QCAD Pro on Xubuntu Linux (usually)

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Installation and Upgrades”