QCad show entities that not are displayed by TrueView

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
sistemas.caw
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 3:51 pm

QCad show entities that not are displayed by TrueView

Post by sistemas.caw » Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:29 pm

Hello,

We have some DWG files that when opend with QCad show entities that not are displayed by TrueView.
Attached example:
Img1.png = DWG file with QCad
Img2.png = DWG file with TrueView
Cad.dwg = DWG for reference.

Anyone know if this behavior is a possible BUG?

O.S. Windows 10 Professional 64 bits
QCAD Professional 3.22.0

Att,
Rhodolfo Novochadlo.
Attachments
CAD.dwg
(137.39 KiB) Downloaded 54 times
Img2.PNG
Img2.PNG (47.17 KiB) Viewed 248 times
Img1.PNG
Img1.PNG (21.64 KiB) Viewed 248 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2488
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: QCad show entities that not are displayed by TrueView

Post by Husky » Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:38 pm

Hello,
sistemas.caw wrote:
Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:29 pm
Anyone know if this behavior is a possible BUG?
I don't know if this is a bug ..................... but I would assume so. :wink:

That behavior is crazy! The problem is based in the block "croqui". In this block is an info field on the lower right side. They used polylines with "Global Width" instead of hatches. Unusual but it should work anyway.

Husky-2019.04.10-03.png
Husky-2019.04.10-03.png (50.61 KiB) Viewed 235 times

If I insert this block into the Model_Space it will perfectly work unless I snap to certain snaps.
Test it by yourself: Delete the frame in Model_Space. Then make sure Autosnap is activatet, Insert the block "croqui" and during the block is attached to the mouse pointer move it slowly over the drawing. If you are in a "no snap" area everything is fine - certain snap's will "blow up" the polylines.

I'm sure Andrew will have a look at that. :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6158
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: QCad show entities that not are displayed by TrueView

Post by andrew » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:49 pm

The block reference is inserted on a Z level which confuses the 2D engine of QCAD.

To correct:
- Edit > Application Preferences > Widgets > Property Editor > [x] Display Z coordinates
- Select the block reference and change property Position > Z to 0:
Screen Shot 2019-04-10 at 21.47.19.png
Screen Shot 2019-04-10 at 21.47.19.png (85.78 KiB) Viewed 232 times
Usually, you could also use Misc > Modify > Flatten Drawing to 2D, but that tool does not seem to catch this case.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”