[solved] Can't join polylines

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post Reply
cniemira
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:09 am

[solved] Can't join polylines

Post by cniemira » Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:21 am

I'm fairly new to QCAD, and so far quite happy. Alas, I've run across an issue that's left me scratching my head. I can't seem to join two polylines that look like they should connect.

Here's a sample from a larger file where I can't join the two entities. The DXF is attached.

I've tried to research this issue here in the forums, but I wasn't able to find anything that pointed me in the right direction. I did find this issue, where the OP described a similar issue, but I don't think it's the same root cause.

Mostly I'm at a loss for how to troubleshoot this kind of thing. When I try to join the entities (for example, by selecting both and doing [Draw] > [PolyLine] > [Create From Selected Entities] ), I get command line output that says:

Code: Select all

Command: polylinemenu
Command: polylinefromselection
0 polylines created
...but no indication as to why my selected entities couldn't be joined.

Can anyone offer any guidance?
Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 6.15.16 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 6.15.16 PM.png (67.71 KiB) Viewed 371 times
Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 6.15.04 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 6.15.04 PM.png (42.68 KiB) Viewed 371 times

Code: Select all

Versions
QCAD version: 3.21.3.0
Date: Sep 17 2018
Qt version: 5.10.0
Compiler version: Clang 8.0.0
Build Date: Sep 17 2018
Revision: 4b91c8ccc5397a316ecbcf4db0becd097eda536d

Architecture: x86_64
OS: macOS
OS version: macOS 10.13
Attachments
error.dxf
(100.28 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
Last edited by cniemira on Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2641
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Can't join polylines

Post by Husky » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:36 am

That is what I would call a folded polyline and you are trying to join them at a corner which has 4 end lines.

Screenshot from an EXTREM :shock: zoom!

Husky-2019.03.05-02.png
Husky-2019.03.05-02.png (7.39 KiB) Viewed 368 times

A simple comparison between a roughly done dimensioning and the real lengths shows the folded effect.

Husky-2019.03.05-01.png
Husky-2019.03.05-01.png (29.88 KiB) Viewed 368 times

If you clean up the polylines QCAD will be easily able to connect them.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

cniemira
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:09 am

Re: Can't join polylines

Post by cniemira » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:57 am

Ah... fascinating! Looking into the properties and setting "closed" to "No" revealed it visually as well.

Each line was effectively doubled up by the process that built the SVG I imported, and my attempts to turn what looked like two different lines into two closed loops.

Thanks so much for the pointers!
Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 8.51.53 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 8.51.53 PM.png (80.27 KiB) Viewed 367 times
Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 8.51.44 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 8.51.44 PM.png (82.15 KiB) Viewed 367 times

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”