Trim both erratic

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate operating system, QCAD version
Attach drawing files, screenshots
Post one question / problem per topic
Post Reply
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Trim both erratic

Post by J-J » Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:58 am

Win7-64, QCAD 3.12.8

Hi,
A small one where I pulled my hair: I used "trim both" to join hidden part of the circle to the radius, and then, I have to use it again to join the visible section of the circle on the other side of the radius. Tool refuses to perform :evil:
I include the offending part of the drawing if you want to have a look.
Trim both.jpg
Trim both.jpg (80.66 KiB) Viewed 4135 times
Attachments
trim both.dwg
(20.25 KiB) Downloaded 215 times
JJ Win7 pro-64

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7905
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Trim both erratic

Post by andrew » Tue Mar 08, 2016 9:14 am

I cannot reproduce this here at the moment. The larger arc trims to the end point of the smaller arc. Is this also what you expected when using trim both? Note that the small arc does not change its shape. This is expected behavior since the intersection or tangent point coincides with the end point of the smaller arc.
trim_both_l.gif
trim_both_l.gif (26.69 KiB) Viewed 4131 times

User avatar
J-J
Moderator
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: Trim both erratic

Post by J-J » Tue Mar 08, 2016 9:45 am

Weird, I tried again on the test excerpt and now it works too.
Still won't do it on the full drawing... e_confused
Attachments
étude poignée de gaz.dwg
(91.56 KiB) Downloaded 212 times
JJ Win7 pro-64

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7905
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Trim both erratic

Post by andrew » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:29 am

Thanks for the file. It's one of those cases, where there is a tiny gap between the arc lines, so they don't intersect strictly speaking. The next version of QCAD will detect this situation and tolerate the gap if it is very small.

For now, you can work around this by trimming to a temporary line constructed at the end of the smaller arc.

Bug report at:
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.ph ... sk_id=1391

User avatar
J-J
Moderator
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: Trim both erratic

Post by J-J » Tue Mar 08, 2016 11:50 am

Thanks Andrew,
I used the orthogonal radius to do the trim
JJ Win7 pro-64

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”