HELP, Break Out Segment Troubleshooting

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
Gus Redwood
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:39 am

HELP, Break Out Segment Troubleshooting

Post by Gus Redwood » Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:52 am

I'm hoping someone here can help me figure out what's going on with my design... I have a drawing that has a raduised line with circles on it. I want to break out segments to create half circle grooves. I included a picture of the design I want, and usually the break out segment tool deletes the parts of the circle I don't want. I can't figure out why, but when I click the delete the parts of the circle it deletes a weird section of it or the whole circle, not a part until an intersection. I have checked and the parts are on the same layer. When I try to use the trim tool I get the following error: The two entities don't intersect, or are currently not supported for trimming. Can anyone think of what my problem could be and how to fix it? Help is greatly appreciated.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-06-23 at 9.50.32 PM.png
what its supposed to look like, break out segment success
Screen Shot 2020-06-23 at 9.50.32 PM.png (22.88 KiB) Viewed 226 times
Screen Shot 2020-06-23 at 9.38.36 PM.png
break out segment failure
Screen Shot 2020-06-23 at 9.38.36 PM.png (29.93 KiB) Viewed 226 times
Screen Shot 2020-06-23 at 9.38.16 PM.png
Starting drawing, before break out segment
Screen Shot 2020-06-23 at 9.38.16 PM.png (27.26 KiB) Viewed 226 times

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: HELP, Break Out Segment Troubleshooting

Post by CVH » Wed Jun 24, 2020 8:02 am

Hi,
This works fine if you use Break Out Segment, Remove (D2) on the larger radius first.
Followed by D2 for the small circles.

But not always if the larger one is a curved poly ...

If all fails, a file would be handy.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

Gus Redwood
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:39 am

Re: HELP, Break Out Segment Troubleshooting

Post by Gus Redwood » Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:23 pm

Here is a file. In the first picture, I did the same thing and the break out segment delete the top of the circle first, then the line through the circle. Any idea whats wrong?
Last edited by Gus Redwood on Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: HELP, Break Out Segment Troubleshooting

Post by CVH » Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:46 pm

A: Larger radius : Right high there is a partial double hidden.
B: Your Small circles are polylines Except 1 that is a full Arc.
C: Smaller radius : Right high there is an Arc as partial double hidden.

After that flatten your drawing to Z = zero (Misc/Modify)

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

Gus Redwood
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:39 am

Re: HELP, Break Out Segment Troubleshooting

Post by Gus Redwood » Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:51 pm

@CVH, you are a good guy. Thank you very much for your help. I found the hidden lines you mentioned, and then once I flattened the drawing using (Misc > Modify > Flatten Drawing to 2d) I was able to break out the segments properly. Now back to work, the bills aren't going to pay themselves...
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 9.47.05 AM.png
Success!
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 9.47.05 AM.png (19.76 KiB) Viewed 179 times

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”