Flex Painter for drawing banks

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
TSG
Premier Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:39 am
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Flex Painter for drawing banks

Post by TSG » Sun Dec 15, 2019 10:51 am

For a couple of years I'm looking for a tool in QCAD to draw banks.
A very simple example can be find in the attachment.
Based on a selected spline or polygone (1) a parallel line (2) and between these two parallels two orthogonals are drawn. One ortogonal (3) from (1) to (2) and the other one (4) half the way between the parallels. Today I draw all the lines manually.

Then I found in QCAD 3.23.0.10 the new FlexPainter and I think with only a few modifications it should be possible to automatize the contruction of my simple banks too.
Who programed FlexPainter and can he or someone else help me?

TSG
Attachments
simple bank.jpg
simple bank.jpg (39.87 KiB) Viewed 572 times

John Hyslop
Premier Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:21 am
Location: Melbourne - Australia

Re: Flex Painter for drawing banks

Post by John Hyslop » Sun Dec 15, 2019 12:27 pm

Hi..
You need to contact CVH he is the developer..
He's on this forum so you could probably private message him...
Cheers
John
IF IT IS TO BE IT IS UP TO ME [ Ten most powerful 2 letter words ]

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 540
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Flex Painter for drawing banks

Post by CVH » Sun Dec 15, 2019 1:34 pm

Thanks, John.
Yes, TSG.
Kinda easy for me.
Painting them would take about 0.3 second. :D

1) would be the base line. Any curved based would do.
Mostly rather fluent will return good results.
2) would be a fitpoint spline that connects the ends off the spokes.
One can't speak of a parallel in general. :wink:
This depends on the nature of the base line.
3) and 4) would be perfect orthogonal line segments.
The painter should be one-sided similar as the 'Ruler' painters.

Edit: Or swap 1 and 2, stepping is based on the base line.

So far all good. :D
Dimensions...looks like 2/3 :?
What I need is your average step from major spoke to major spoke and average offset.
Numbers in full tell me more about your implementation.
What I really need is their average ratio.

Naming: RiverBank? Other banks?
I see them on a F1 track too.

Then comes the next questions:
Are you willing to wait for a while after the next full release of QCAD?
or :?:
Are you able/willing to fiddle arround in scripts?

Kind regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

TSG
Premier Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:39 am
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Re: Flex Painter for drawing banks

Post by TSG » Mon Dec 16, 2019 12:23 pm

First of all thanks for your readiness to adapt FlexPainter for my needs.

>"What I need is your average step from major spoke to major spoke and average offset."<

This is difficult to say because it varies case by case.
A first shot may be:
2 drawing units for the long spoke (3) and the distance between two long spokes
2 drawing units between two baselines (1, 2) and
1 drawing unit between the short and the long spoke.

But, much better it would be if these dimensions can be set changeable in a dialog.


>"Naming: RiverBank? Other banks? I see them on a F1 track too."<

bank or river bank in landscape drawings. No F1 ;-)

Due to the lack of programming skills I have no other chance to wait for the next release or maybe for the next snapshot release of QCAD.

Cheers!
TSG

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 540
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Flex Painter for drawing banks

Post by CVH » Mon Dec 16, 2019 3:47 pm

QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”