Symbols

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

simonbolton
Newbie Member

Symbols

Post by simonbolton » Sat Jun 01, 2019 10:45 am

I apologise for asking what is probably a well oiled subject but I am new to QCAD (Previous on turbocad which did not like my Mac).
I want some architectural symbols but cannot stump up the big sums. I tried to download some from the net which sort of successful but I could not load them. Probably me being dumb but would appreciate a Janet and John answer to the whole procedure.
Many thanks
Simon

andrew
Site Admin

Re: Symbols

Post by andrew » Sat Jun 01, 2019 11:10 am

Please refer to our part library tutorial at:
https://qcad.org/en/tutorial-working-wi ... rt-library

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to post back here. Please indicate what exactly the problem is, what error message you are getting, etc.

simonbolton
Newbie Member

Post by simonbolton » Sat Jun 01, 2019 2:16 pm

Hi Andrew
Thanks for quick reply. Yes I had read this page and I have downloaded a number of files(doors, baths etc)from CadBlocks.net and even converted to zip but they just languish in my downloads. When I open one it appears on QCAD but I cannot drag and drop into the Library browser widget. I am being dim I know but I blame age! Help.
Many thanks
Simon

andrew
Site Admin

Post by andrew » Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:45 am

simonbolton wrote:
Sat Jun 01, 2019 2:16 pm
and even converted to zip
What you need is a folder with DXF or DWG files, not a ZIP file. Downloads sometimes come as ZIP file which would then need to be extracted to get to a state with folders and DXF/DWG files.
simonbolton wrote:
Sat Jun 01, 2019 2:16 pm
When I open one it appears on QCAD but I cannot drag and drop into the Library browser widget.