Page 1 of 1

Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 9:50 am
by Rantanplan7
Hi,

I have some more questions on "how to".
If I have to draw a wall I'm used to draw to rectangles, move them together and afterwards I'm trimming the union. Don't know if my english is good enough to get what I'm talking of, so please take a look at the attached drawing where I have placed a machine in a corner. What I would like to get is the red wall.

Another problem is the dimension. To get the "mm" after the number I have to explode the dimension and after that I can edit the number with a text. As well if the drawing is for the US I have to get double dimensions - mm and inch and I would calculate the inch value and edit the writing. This is working but it isn't very ergonomic. Is there any quicker way to do this?

Please bear in mind that I'm only used to Autosketch and that I'm not a professional CAD user.
QCAD_Question1.jpg
QCAD_Question1.jpg (51.07 KiB) Viewed 2034 times

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:53 pm
by Husky
Hi,
Rantanplan7 wrote:If I have to draw a wall I'm used to draw to rectangles, move them together and afterwards I'm trimming the union.
Short answer. Yes - that is one of many ways to accomplish that task. But it is always a question of the given situation. There are many different ways to come to the same result and you have to decide in each case what works best for that situation.
Rantanplan7 wrote:To get the "mm" after the number I have to explode the dimension and after that I can edit the number with a text.
Try to avoid exploding a dimension because the functionality of that dim is lost for ever.
If you need to put a text like the unit to a dim then you can use the Property Editor. Use <> in the Label which will reflect the Value and then put the text in front or behind <> like <> mm.
Husky-2017.12.08-01.png
Husky-2017.12.08-01.png (24.81 KiB) Viewed 2018 times
Rantanplan7 wrote:As well if the drawing is for the US I have to get double dimensions - mm and inch and I would calculate the inch value and edit the writing. This is working but it isn't very ergonomic. Is there any quicker way to do this?
There are a few ways to make it at least a bit more comfortable. Could you attache a drawing or screenshot to see your current requirements. Thanks.

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:55 am
by Rantanplan7
Hi Husky,

thanks for the your answers.
Regarding trimming a union to make the wall corner look better I wanted to say I'm used to this from Autosketch, the question is how do I trim a union in QCAD, because I have not found a similar function yet.
To get the mm with the Label in the properties is a much quicker way, thanks for that.
The double dimension should be something like 8' 2 1/2" / 2504 mm.
Another nice feature in Autosketch was to have the text inline with the dimension lines - is that possible in QCAD too?
Dimension2.jpg
Dimension2.jpg (21.55 KiB) Viewed 2000 times

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:22 pm
by Husky
Rantanplan7 wrote:Regarding trimming a union to make the wall corner look better I wanted to say I'm used to this from Autosketch, the question is how do I trim a union in QCAD, because I have not found a similar function yet.
I don't know Autosketch but there are a few Trim Tools in QCAD - maybe you are looking for "Trim Both"?



Rantanplan7 wrote:The double dimension should be something like 8' 2 1/2" / 2504 mm.
Husky-2017.12.11-05.png
Husky-2017.12.11-05.png (24.13 KiB) Viewed 1980 times

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:57 pm
by lphilpot
Just out of curiosity, are there any other replaceable parameters (or tokens, etc.) in addition to "<>"?

Thanks.

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:17 am
by Husky
lphilpot wrote:Just out of curiosity, are there any other replaceable parameters (or tokens, etc.) in addition to "<>"?
Right Mouse-click inside the Label Field --> Insert Symbol
Husky-2017.12.11-03.png
Husky-2017.12.11-03.png (33.11 KiB) Viewed 1973 times

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:27 am
by lphilpot
Now why did I never notice that? :wink: Looks like I need to do more experimental right-clicking (or 'secondary' clicking, to be more accurate).

So the actual value is the only calculated token, the rest are static characters. Then again, I'm not sure I could come up with a valid use for another calculated token, anyway (not yet, at least).

Thanks!

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:44 am
by Rantanplan7
Thanks Husky. Looks like QCAD is a dignified replacement of Autosketch.
As well I have read that QCAD will get some missing useful functions like moving objects with the arrow keys - maybe we get as well a quick turning possibility straight after choosing a symbol?

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:49 am
by Husky
Rantanplan7 wrote:As well I have read that QCAD will get some missing useful functions like moving objects with the arrow keys ...
Correct - comes with the next update.
Rantanplan7 wrote:... maybe we get as well a quick turning possibility straight after choosing a symbol?
To late! :shock:
Additional to the uncounted other turning tools implemented with Version 3.17.0 . :D

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:48 pm
by Rantanplan7
Rantanplan7 hat geschrieben:... maybe we get as well a quick turning possibility straight after choosing a symbol?


To late! :shock:
Additional to the uncounted other turning tools implemented with Version 3.17.0 . :D

Are we talking about the same function? I mark a symbol and can freely rotate it by clicking and holding a mouse button? Additionally by holding CTRL in adjustable steps like 15° steps?

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:56 pm
by Rantanplan7
Just to explain why free turning is nice to have.
SafetyFence.jpg
SafetyFence.jpg (38.67 KiB) Viewed 1957 times
The small pieces are sefety fences around a machine and as you can see the last one hasn't got an easy to guess angle, so the easiest way would be if I could freely rotate it with the mouse and release it when it is fitting into the gap.

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:59 pm
by andrew
You might want to use the tool Modify > Align Reference Points instead.

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:04 pm
by Husky
Rantanplan7 wrote:Are we talking about the same function? I mark a symbol and can freely rotate it by clicking and holding a mouse button? Additionally by holding CTRL in adjustable steps like 15° steps?
I'm talking about to have the same possibility in QCAD - I'm not talking about to have the same shortcuts or what ever is used in other programs.

Have you tried the tool which is mentioned by Andrew?

additional:
- the common Rotate Tool in QCAD has an option to rotate a selection freely,
- if you need to limit it to specific degree steps - you can do it too,
- Clipboard > Paste, Block > Insert, Insert > library items, Draw > Text can also be rotated by using Keyboard Keys ...

... that is why I wrote: "uncounted other turning tools".

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:40 am
by Rantanplan7
Dear Andrew and Husky I'm speechless.
I have digged a bit deeper into the possibilities to rotate objects like you mentioned. I like both, but in the case I mentioned the Andrews tool is very ergonomic to use.
I feel ashamed that I have not read a bit more about the function before and thanks a lot for your answers - I'm positively surprised that no one wrote RTFM :D
However I will buy Andrews book and will read a bit over the christmas days.
Great program, I already love QCAD. Whenever I can help with translating something to German just let me know.

Re: Join rectangles and dimensioning

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:12 am
by Husky
Rantanplan7 wrote:I'm positively surprised that no one wrote RTFM :D
That is something what we would never do ..................... soooooooooooooooooo soon! :wink:
Rantanplan7 wrote:Whenever I can help with translating something to German just let me know.
Vielen Dank für das Angebot. Im Falle das Not an Mann ist ist es für die Verantwortlichen gut zu wissen das jemand helfen könnte!

However - you are welcome! Don't worry about the RT.. :wink: