A possible solution to the Lisp/JavaScript impedance

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Pixel_Outlaw
Newbie Member

A possible solution to the Lisp/JavaScript impedance

Post by Pixel_Outlaw » Wed Aug 24, 2022 8:26 pm

I'm relativity new so please forgive any assumptions I've made in error.

I noticed that we have JavaScript support for scripting, which honestly is great in a CAD especially at this price point. Kudos there.
I also noticed that a lot of people are requesting AutoLISP/VisualLISP support.

Being a huge Lisp guy (Emacs Lisp, Common Lisp, Scheme, Clojure and AutoLISP) I'm wondering if anyone has thought about using one of the "compiles to JavaScript" approaches to add Lisp functionality in? I'm a programmer so I DO appreciate the complexity of such a task.

The hard part of course is that you can't model the Direct X/Visual Brainsick side of Visual LISP (nor should we repeat that kind of cruft).
Instead, I think it would be good to use something like ParenScript and define a few of the AutoLISP functions. (quite trivial since you can literally define new syntax and functions at runtime in Common Lisp) we can also make it have 1:1 parity with JavaScript functionality.

Now, I'm willing to contribute some effort into this regard as a programmer if there is interest.
There are differences between Common Lisp and Visual Lisp but you're gaining a TON of modern features with such a conversion.
It would be fairly straight forward though to convert most VisualLISP routines into Common Lisp after a brief tutorial on their differences.

Just tossing this out there, as a multi dialect Lisp guy. :mrgreen:

Pixel_Outlaw
Newbie Member

Re: A possible solution to the Lisp/JavaScript impedance

Post by Pixel_Outlaw » Thu Aug 25, 2022 4:59 am

Bit of an update.
Here is the definition of a VisualLISP function transformed into valid Common Lisp.