Flex Painter for drawing banks Continued

Discussion forum for contributors and developers who are using the QCAD ECMAScript development platform or the C++ plugin interface or who are otherwise looking to contribute to QCAD (translations, documentation, etc).

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 540
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Flex Painter for drawing banks Continued

Post by CVH » Mon Dec 16, 2019 3:46 pm

TSG wrote:
Sun Dec 15, 2019 10:51 am
For a couple of years I'm looking for a tool in QCAD to draw banks.
simple bank.jpg
simple bank.jpg (39.87 KiB) Viewed 571 times
Hi TSG,

With fiddle around in scripts I ment open/copy/paste/save.

Flexpainter works in drawing units altough the painter is defined as 9 based.
Even if you switch to a file in a different unit it will adapt your last inputs. :D

And there sits a first catch. The width is limited to 999.
Never expected one would paint a meter wide with mm as units. :|

Standard ratios:
You proposed 1:1 and in the drawing it looks rather 2:3, meaning stepping 2 versus width 3.
I think I even include both.
Not that it matters because you can unlock the build in ratios.

Gave it a little more thoughts and here comes the second catch.
Flexpainter is merely stepping the base-entity and projecting references orthogonal.
In your picture I can clearly see that the equidistant stepping is on the so said parallel 2).
Flexpainter can't do that in one go. :(
The so said parallel is created at the end from the tips of the spokes by one spline.

simple bank painted.png
simple bank painted.png (72.97 KiB) Viewed 571 times

And cleary visible is the smudging when the bend is to hard inwards.

The other way around would be.
Drawing a 'Real' parallel 2) and only paint spokes....
Then all depends on how good the parallel is. :roll:
The spokes will not adapt to any flaw in distance.

Let me know. :)

Regards
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

TSG
Premier Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:39 am
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Re: Flex Painter for drawing banks Continued

Post by TSG » Fri Dec 20, 2019 5:15 pm

Sorry, I'm a bit late but my job eats me up.

Your examples look great and I can't await to use your tool.
By the way, I found FlexPainter in the QCAD container and I think I should be able to paste and copy your changes into it. ;-)

I think it doesn't matter if the spokes go off at certain points. It's only a little effort to correct this manually. Same for other little incorrectnesses.
Also the limitation to 999 units doesn't matter. As you assumed the drawing units of my site plans are "m" and I can not imagine a bank longer than a few hundred meters. So 999 is far enough.

Cheers!
TSG

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 540
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Flex Painter for drawing banks Continued

Post by CVH » Fri Dec 20, 2019 5:42 pm

TSG,

Finally the next full release of QCAD is anounced.
Now I can start testing what workarounds I can expel.
But this time of the year is the worst for me.
Probably will PM you the painters + instructions.
Plain copy-paste.

All around me I see 'banks' with the short spokes at the high side.
simple bank street.png
simple bank street.png (171.24 KiB) Viewed 511 times
Will include the inverse too.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.24.3.0 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Developers and Contributors”