Page 1 of 1

[solved] Separate horizontal/vertical scaling for PDF export?

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 4:40 pm
by malaire
Is it possible to use separate horizontal and vertical scaling when exporting to PDF?

My use case is that my printer has 0.6% vertical error and 0.2% horizontal error, so I'd like to compensate for these when exporting to PDF for printing.

I print using different computer from where I use QCAD, so I need to export to PDF first instead of printing directly.

Re: Separate horizontal/vertical scaling for PDF export?

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 7:51 pm
by Husky
Hi,
malaire wrote:
Sat Oct 26, 2019 4:40 pm
Is it possible to use separate horizontal and vertical scaling when exporting to PDF?
Yes and no. e_surprised
Yes, if you use a third party pdf printer driver.
No, if you use the internal pdf printer of QCAD.
malaire wrote:
Sat Oct 26, 2019 4:40 pm
I print using different computer from where I use QCAD, so I need to export to PDF first instead of printing directly.
Usually that is done with a 1:1 pdf print and the calibration is done within the pdf reader printer settings.

Howsoever, QCAD has an internal printer calibration which can address every installed printer driver. Your QCAD license would allows you to install QCAD on every computer if you are the only one who is working with the program. :wink:

QCAD Printer calibration:

Husky-2019.10.26-01.png
Husky-2019.10.26-01.png (22.97 KiB) Viewed 4984 times


I recommend to install the QCAD Trial version to verify that it meets your needs.
https://www.qcad.org/en/qcad-downloads-trial

Further question? Go ahead! :wink:

Re: [solved] Separate horizontal/vertical scaling for PDF export?

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 8:52 pm
by malaire
Thank you, that is perfect solution for my needs:

1) Install QCAD on both computers
2) Don't export to PDF but use the save format (dxf) for transferring between computers
3) Print with QCAD using its internal printer calibration settings

ps. I'm currently testing the free version, so I hadn't noticed the printer calibration settings which are only in Professional version.