please help ! Developing an application for Qcad.

Do you have a question you want to ask an existing QCAD user about QCAD and what you can do with it? Do you want to know if a particular feature exists? This is the place to ask.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

barcel
Newbie Member

please help ! Developing an application for Qcad.

Post by barcel » Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:01 pm

hi, I would like to develop a funtionality for Qcad, i'm not a programmer so i don't understand pretty well the jargon. I aiming to create a funtionalty to draw and count optic fiber, this aplication will storage and manage data and link that data to the drawing.
Do i have to get a Qt license for that? can i use my application in Qcad Community edition and distribute it together? i will need to hire a programmer to do this but i would like to know all i need before starting my idea. Can someone advice me ? what would be the best way and what tools do i need to have?
Thankk you in advance.

Alan :)

andrew
Site Admin

Re: please help ! Developing an application for Qcad.

Post by andrew » Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:18 pm

barcel wrote:Do i have to get a Qt license for that?
If your code will be written in ECMAScript (JavaScript), all you need is a copy of QCAD. Everything you need is included in QCAD. If you're planning to develop in C++, you will need a Qt license (commercial or LGPL).
barcel wrote:can i use my application in Qcad Community edition and distribute it together?
Yes, if your code is released under GPLv3 or your code resides entirely inside scripts or a plugin (recommended).