Force script path with env var or cli argument?

This forum is for 'Work-in-Progress' QCAD user developed script Add Ons and Plug-ins.

Please use this forum to request/submit your script Add-Ons & Plug-in idea's.

Moderators: andrew, Husky, J-J

Post Reply
schmidtw
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:32 am

Force script path with env var or cli argument?

Post by schmidtw » Tue Oct 06, 2020 7:44 am

I'm looking to do some larger scale changes to scripts locally & would like to be able to point the same version of qcad to different instances of my script directories.

It's not completely clear how I should do this & the values that QT suggests are checked by default don't seem to be.

https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qstandardpaths.html

Code: Select all

AppDataLocation	"~/.local/share/<APPNAME>", "/usr/local/share/<APPNAME>", "/usr/share/<APPNAME>"
AppLocalDataLocation	"~/.local/share/<APPNAME>", "/usr/local/share/<APPNAME>", "/usr/share/<APPNAME>"
Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Wes

schmidtw
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:32 am

Re: Force script path with env var or cli argument?

Post by schmidtw » Thu Oct 08, 2020 7:24 pm

I did a fair bit of debugging and found that there are a few path searching blockers for being able to prefer one script tree over the built in version.

Here is my PR that fixes the issues I saw:
https://github.com/qcad/qcad/pull/26

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'Script Add-On & Plug-in challenge' - Work in Progress”